Skip to content

Big, BIG news (and a little bit of fear)

August 5, 2010

So there’s a big secret I’ve been keeping from you. It’s been hard to keep it because I love to share things with you, my beloved readers, but I had to keep it quiet until a few important people knew about it. And now that they know, I can share it…

I AM QUITTING MY JOB!

It’s true! I gave my notice a couple of weeks ago, and now that all of my staff have been informed, I can share it with the big wide world. I’ll be finished here at the end of September.

It’s one of the scariest things I’ve ever done. Even scarier than skydiving. I am leaping and hoping that the net will appear.

I’m going to be self employed. (“Joyfully jobless” as one of my favourite Twitter friends says.) I’m going to follow that dream that has been niggling at the back of my heart for so long. I’m going to create my own version of a consulting company and do the things I love to do – write, teach, provide communications/public relations advice and expertise, facilitate workshops, do public speaking, and maybe produce a few videos of interesting international development projects, if that kind of work comes along. I expect that some of it will take the shape of “Sophia Leadership” which I talked about last month.

The day that I came home from work and told Marcel that I really felt like the timing was right to quit (even though he hasn’t found full time work yet, and we’d always said that would be when I’d make the leap), he agreed and we both felt quite peaceful about the decision. Minutes after we talked about it, I opened my email and there was an email from the University wondering if I’d be interested in teaching a “Writing for Public Relations” course! My first contract and I get to TEACH! (A contract, by the way, that came about partly through a referral and partly because of this blog!) That little email felt like just the kind of encouragement I needed to believe this is the right decision.

Today – the day after I made the announcement to staff and some of my network of colleagues – I am feeling a mix of nostalgia, excitement, fear, and relief. I’m getting flooded with friendly emails, phone calls, and visits from colleagues and associates who have become friends, and it’s so nice to hear from the people whose lives I have touch and who have touched my life. I will miss this place and all of the wonderful things it has brought to my life.

I would be lying if I didn’t admit that this job has burnt me out somewhat (managing up to 17 people and a million dollar budget can be really, really hard some days), but I have had so many wonderful opportunities here and learned so very much about the world, about myself, and about what it takes to be a leader.

None-the-less, even though I’m walking away from what has been one of the most perfect jobs I could imagine, I feel at peace about this decision. There is something new waiting to be born in my life and I am ready to see what that is.

The chrysallis is emerging from the cocoon and the butterfly is ready to try her new wings.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 8:11 am

    How brave and how wonderful! And obviously the Universe agrees that it is what you are meant to do if you already have your first “gig”! Much, much, much luck…I hope it is everything that brings you happiness and joy!

  2. August 5, 2010 8:23 am

    Oh, Heather, I am SO HAPPY for you. I think you will be WONDERFUL at this! I know there is risk, but you are so energetic and multi-talented…I cannot imagine a better person for self-employment security than YOU. What great, great news! I’m cheering you on, O.

  3. Barbara Winter permalink
    August 5, 2010 8:32 am

    Hooray again, Heather! I know you are going to be a fabulous entrepreneur. I also was smiling when I read about your invitation to teach the class. When I have a tough decision to make and dither because I’m not certain, I ask for a sign. I always get a sign (heck when I couldn’t decide if I should go through with my plan to move to Las Vegas, I got 3 signs all at once), but I’m not always paying attention.

    Keep in mind, too, that all the wonderful parts of your job have been an apprenticeship for learning what you want to include, adapt and integrate into your own enterprise. Most eager to watch this all unfold.

  4. August 5, 2010 8:34 am

    Congratulations! Burnout is a tough beast, even with a job you enjoyed. I went through this last Spring when I left my day job. Focusing on abundance helps (crushing the doubts & fears) and breaking the patterns of your typical workday (discovering how YOU want to shape your days). You are going to LOVE it!

    All the best for success. How wonderful that you can share your gifts with more people now!

  5. August 5, 2010 8:46 am

    All the best for your success! You’ve got so much to offer the world. I’m really excited to see you take this next step!

  6. August 5, 2010 8:49 am

    To finally be able to announce it to the world and declare it to the universe is just such an exciting event in and of itself!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. August 5, 2010 8:56 am

    Wowowowow!!! This is amazing news! I feel like I’ve been on this journey with you and know how much you deserve this and how difficult a decision it must have been. I have to say, self-employment isn’t always easy, but it is so rewarding and SO worth it!

    Leap and the net will appear? Yes, it will – because you have been building the net. You have it in you to do this. I couldn’t be happier for you!

  8. August 5, 2010 8:59 am

    Congratulations Heather for making the best decision for you. And what a great way to start a new career – teaching at the University!! That has got to be a sign that you are going in the right direction. You are a very talented lady and I am sure your talents will serve you well as you share your gifts with others in need of your expertise.

    We are going to miss you but I look forward to reading your blog everyday and will keep in touch that way.

    Best wishes

  9. August 5, 2010 9:16 am

    YAY You!! Congratulations!!

  10. Danielle permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:31 am

    Wow… this is big news! I’m sure you’ll find the world of consultancy exciting! Since I started working as a consultant again, I’ve had more opportunities for interesting work come my way than I could possibly hope for or ever accept. It seems to be a great time to be working independantly! I wish you all the best – I’m sure you’ll love the flexibility and variety as much as I do! P.S. I’ll be sure to send any communication-type work that I hear about your way!

  11. August 5, 2010 10:12 am

    Woohoo! Go for it! I’m having more fun as a self-employed woman than I’ve ever had in my life, despite the fact that it’ll probably be ages before I really start earning good money. It seems to be so good for my family, too. I’m certain that you’ll make a big success of this new venture.

  12. August 5, 2010 10:12 am

    how wonderful! I love your vision and your leap of faith and your courage to follow your inner wisdom. Many blessings and discoveries and expansion for you on this next step of your journey.
    love and light!!

  13. Katharine permalink
    August 5, 2010 10:28 am

    A deep bow to you, Heather, for your courage and trust in your Self. It seems to me this is a personal embodiment of Sophia Leadership. Namaste.

  14. August 5, 2010 10:40 am

    This is a Big Deal, Heather! Congratulations 🙂 Goethe would be proud! I am!

  15. Kelly permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:00 am

    Wow! A huge leap! Congratulations, I think this is something you’ve wanted somewhere in the back of your mind for a very long time. Best of luck, if anyone can do it, you can! You are such a risk taker, I admire that but it scares me – I need a lot of security.

    Cheers to you!
    K.

  16. Jane Kirsch permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:49 am

    Congratulations Heather! Welcome to the world of the joyfully jobless tribe!! You have all the key ingredients to be a self-employed success and I believe that, at this stage of your life, all the stars have conspired to make this the right time for this decision. You are embarking on a truly wonderful adventure.

    Be sure to keep us all up-to-date on the sorts of projects you are interested in so the synchronicity can continue.

    In your corner,
    Jane

  17. August 5, 2010 12:01 pm

    Dear Heather,

    I am so excited for you! Congratulations!! Having read several of your posts and tweets over the last months (longer?), I have a feeling all the pieces are there for you to step into what’s next. You’re ready! My warmest congratulations and please keep us posted on how wonderfully things progress. If I can be helfpul in any way, please do let me know.

    Shahrzad (@careerconsult)

  18. Kirsten permalink
    August 5, 2010 3:00 pm

    Heather, I am THRILLED for you, congratulations!!! I look forward to reading your posts in the coming weeks & months & don’t worry about a safety net – you won’t need one, because you are going to FLY!!!! Huge cyber hugs to you.

  19. August 5, 2010 7:33 pm

    oh YEAH
    go heather!!!!!

  20. August 5, 2010 8:46 pm

    Heather, reading your words and emotions, your excitement and adventure is palpable and I am energized half way across the world. Wishing you love and energy on your new journey.
    Hugs,
    Mihirini

  21. August 6, 2010 12:40 am

    Congratulations on choosing to be so very YOU!!
    I am really really happy for you Heather ❤
    This is wonderful news and I look forward to hearing all about the new journey 🙂
    How fun!! How brave!! and how very true 🙂
    xxm

  22. August 6, 2010 8:42 am

    Holy crap! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you Heather. Your bravery is inspiring sista.

  23. Renee permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:44 am

    Congratulations, Heather! I am soooo excited for you! I know this will be a wonderful and exhilarating new journey, full of new discoveries! Sending lots of love, hugs and best wishes your way!!!

  24. August 6, 2010 9:47 am

    What’s that magic phrase? Something like: You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take…? Having been there/done that I can guarantee it will be a roller coaster ride, so hang on and scream a lot if necessary. Time is the only commodity of value and you just bought yourself the rest of your life.

    “There is no try, there is only do.”
    (Yoda)

  25. laura permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:32 am

    How amazing, how brave, how exciting, how inspiring! good luck on your new journey and enjoy 🙂

  26. August 6, 2010 3:08 pm

    You’re a brave woman to follow your star like this.

  27. August 6, 2010 4:24 pm

    Like they all said: yay you yayayayayay!
    What an exciting time, and how courageous. xoxo

  28. August 6, 2010 10:14 pm

    Oh Heather, YAY! I am so so so so happy for you! I am getting it proven to me over and over that when we step out into the universe and declare boldly, I Am Ready, the universe responds in powerful ways.

    I simply cannot wait to see where this lovely journey continues! YAY!!

  29. August 6, 2010 10:26 pm

    We seem to be twins…quitting our jobs…writing blog post about it. stepping out on our own to design a life that works for us. I commend you for being bold, and brave. Keep investing in yourself and living the life you dream for yourself.

    Blessings to you in all things!

  30. August 7, 2010 1:39 am

    I clicked through from a comment you made on Hiro Boga’s blog, and just wanted to extend my hearty congratulations! Good for you, good for you, GOOD for you!

    For jumping. For not letting fear stop you. For following your dreams.

    The Universe is already responding. Enjoy the discoveries and evolution that are sure to come!

Leave a comment